Blackwülf: New LP, ‘Sinister Sides’, Streaming in Full

Oakland Metal Band Joined by Pentagram / Bedemon founder Geof O’Keefe on New Album and Live Appearance at SXSW Festival; Video for Album’s Title Track Debuts
   Bay Area heavy metal band Blackwülf will release its new album, Sinister Sides, on February 23 via Ripple Music (Mothership, Wo Fat). Recorded at San Francisco’s Trakworx Recording & Mastering (Agalloch, Deafheaven), Sinister Sidesshowcases eight songs featuring heavy, headbanging riffs and is the follow-up to Blackwülf‘s 2015 LP, Oblivion Cycle, hailed as “rock ‘n’ roll at its purest” (The Bay Bridged). In advance of the record’s release, New Noise is streaming Sinister Sides in full; hear the album now at this location.

 “Sinister Sides’ is, at its core, old school heavy rock made new again,” says Blackwülfguitarist Pete Holmes. “Filled to the brim with fist-pumping riffs and aggressive grooves, the record’s intention is to provide a classic ‘album experience’: a dark journey through the best sides of vintage hard rock, stoner rock and traditional doom metal.”

On the new album, Blackwülf is joined by founding Pentagram and Bedemon guitarist Geof O’Keefe, who guests on the record, bringing his trademark doom vibrato and guitar heaviness to the group’s vigorous, vintage metal and blistering cover of Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love”. O’Keefe will also appear live with Blackwülf at the 2018 SXSW festival in Austin, TX this March as part of the official Ripple Music showcase (w/ Mothership, Wo Fat, more; see details here). 

Additionally, Blackwülf has unveiled a music video for the album’s title track which features the band jamming with O’Keefe. See it now at this location (via The Obelisk).

Blackwülf will hold its hometown record release show for Sinister Sides on February 24 at The Hemlock Tavern in San Francisco (see details here). Additional U.S. touring is expected to be announced soon. The band will also perform as one of the featured acts at Desertfest London this May, alongside High on Fire, Graveyard and more.

   Track listing:

1.) Gate of Sorrow
2.) Sinister Sides (The Obelisk premiere)
3.) Waiting on Tomorrow
4.) Dead to the World (Decibel premiere)
5.) Blind to Fate
6.) The Tempest
7.) Sunshine of Your Love (Cream cover)
8.) Battle Line

    Blackwülf features Alex Cunningham (vocals), Pete Holmes (guitar), Dave Pankenier (drums) and Scott Peterson (bass). Find Blackwülf online at and follow the band on Facebook.

  “Oakland doom rockers Blackwülf have been prowling in the same sonic pack as forefathers Pentagram and Bedemon since they formed in 2012. Vocal hooks, searing leads, and riffs that honor the history of electric blues through the lens of American doom.” – DECIBEL

   “Oakland-based Blackwülf follow the Hard Rock/Proto-Doom traditions of the ’70s with a charismatic heaviness.” – DOOM

“Sinister Sides’ is a tremendous album. If you dig Stoner, Doom, Garage, or even Classic Rock there is something for you to love on this ripper.” – OUTLAWS OF THE SUN

Blackwülf – Sinister Sides (Official Video)